I don’t know if this has ever happened to you, but it happens to me often: I’m taking some kind of test and just as I say to myself “man, this is as easy as pie” the laws of Jinx kick in and suddenly I’m struggling. It happens to me often. Had you ever watch the movie “License to drive”? Les (Corey Haim, RIP) is taking a drivers license test and just as he thinks “this is too easy, why don’t you just give me my license” the test becomes very difficult. That sets the course for the whole movie, that I recommend you to watch. (Matter of fact, here is the link: https://youtu.be/xaUa0O6pF5o ). 

Well now. Back to topic. I knew that working full time 66 miles away from home AND going to college was going to be a challenge, but I know I can manage. This week I’m tired, and although I have a lot of homework and stuff to do, I feel like falling sleep pretty much all of the time. You know you are in need of rest when you drink an X-Large coffee on the road and still feel sleepy, and then go to sleep right away.

Well, such a situation is taking mental clarity and energy away. But you know what? I’m gonna do great still. So far I had passed all my classes with an A, and I will keep doing that. At least until March, when VA stop my Tuition Assistance and I will literally run out of money. What will happen then? No idea. For now, I can only concentrate on what is in front of me, and that is Digital Animation. 

I always wanted to be an animator. I’m a huge Mickey Mouse fan (did I mention that I can do his voice fairly well?) and of Walt Disney. Now this is the chance. And while I would just go blank faced if you ask me to define a “nurb” or a “spline” in my own words, I know that I have the talent and imagination to do this, dammit. You can give anyone the best painting kit and ask for a Picasso or to paint a Monalisa, but if the talent is not there, no paint kit will solve that. I had seen people with expensive instruments and they cannot play, and I had seen virtuosos making great music out of trash can lids and household objects. When the talent is there, is there; the rest is just technical stuff. 

So although I might feel sluggish at grasping this or that concept, I am confident that I will not only learn and eventually master it, but also create something great with it.

You watch.

Leave a Reply

